#1 Peiper

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Dragoon
  • The Dragoon
  • 1,444 posts
  • Google+: Link
  • LocationA fog where no one notices the contrast of white on white

Posted 06 November 2013 - 01:59 PM

No Guts No Galaxy: Bryan Eckman interview 11/6/2013 (Recorded before or on Oct 31st)

Broadcast here: https://soundcloud.c...kman-ui-2-0-and

NGNG Two Year Anniversary, Grats!

Disclaimer: These are MY notes from the interview. I'm not a professional, and don't ask me questions about what was said. Instead, listen to the interview: I've conveniently time stamped stuff for you so you can verify and clarify what was said. [Editorial notes by me are in brackets, like this statement.] Most of the questions were posted by Phil and Daeron (hosts) and all answers by Bryan. I did not transcribe any further after Bryan left.

Introductions, Christmas ads. [NGNG relies on sponsors to keep going, this transcript of the interview would not have been possible without NGNG broadcasting the interview to begin with. Consider buying a coffee mug, t-shirt or something, eh? -Peiper]

Support NGNG here: http://nogutsnogalaxy.myshopify.com/

6:20 Eckman introduction

UI 2.0 Question and answers?

7:00 Q: Alternate visual version of the mechlab (like smurfy)?
1st version: working on usability of what we've seen so far in test server, also have a mech detail view which you will be able to look at which will show more of the nuts and bolts of the mech you've created.
2nd version: Eventually, they will have a 'builders dream' version of the mechlab which will have minimal fluff, maximum ease of building.

8:16 Q: Why was current version chosen over simple/streamlined version?
Smurfy's build is not pretty, and hard for a new player to understand.
UI2.0: Each part of the mech is isolated and detailed, and pretty. Easy for new players to understand what they're changing.

Q: Confirm smurfy lookalike?
'We will be reviewing it.'