- - - - -

Game Controler

19 replies to this topic

#1 Ingvar Bloodwolf

Rookie

• 1 posts

Posted 24 March 2014 - 12:28 PM

Is it possible to use a joystick/throtle controler on MWO? I have a Thrustmaster T-flight Hotas X.

#2 Modo44

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 3,559 posts

Posted 24 March 2014 - 12:33 PM

Yes, you can use a joystick. The most popular setup is joystick for the legs (turning and throttle) + mouse for the arms and torso (looking around and aiming).

#3 Koniving

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Guide
  • The Guide
  • 23,384 posts

Posted 24 March 2014 - 12:38 PM

I've got that. I use the throttle control side of it combined with a mouse.

I found the joystick side of the Thrustmaster Hotas X to be a bit difficult to use due to the kind of joystick it is (a first-order stick -- the Thrustmaster manipulates analog through velocity, better for flying) which is difficult to use for targeting.

Posted Image

I detached the joystick and have it sit under the table unless I get into a jet on BF3/4.

The throttle side is fantastic with almost enough buttons to run the game. I use the analog finger keys on the throttle (bottom left image) to steer. Jump, next target, armlock and Override are under the thumb. Center Legs to Torso and Manual Power on/off are under the fingers. I also use the thumbstick of the joystick, which queues Airstrike (upper left), Artillery (upper right), UAV (Up), Night Vision (bottom left) and Thermal (Bottom right) with MAG vision reserved for (Down) when released...if it ever gets released.

Occasionally I use a cheap wired PS3 controller from Walmart. Its joysticks are zero-order and incredibly accurate. (Manipulates position not speed, better for aiming). Covers all the buttons nicely.

Joystick types here.

Edited by Koniving, 24 March 2014 - 12:43 PM.

#4 Redshift2k5

Welcoming Committee

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Stone Cold
  • Stone Cold