Gauss Cannon Mechanics Are Excluding Novice Players?

69 replies to this topic

#41 Zepster

• PipPipPip
  • 71 posts

Posted 07 October 2014 - 04:04 AM

I love sniping and I must say I think the charging mechanic was a good tweek/nerf to them. If you can't handle using them don't come to the forums whining about it... Spend some time practicing with them. There are many alpha's in the game that will have the same effect as 2 gauss to the CT.......

#42 Xeraphale

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 241 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 07 October 2014 - 04:09 AM

I have to admit that when I started playing it was the gauss rifle which I found the hardest to master, it felt unnatrual to fire a weapon with the release of a button. It felt sluggish as you couldn't snap shot with it and it took forethought to use.

But you know what? Practice helped. I loaded a Jagermech with a pair of them and dropped constantly with it, it didn't take long before I became proficient with it. I would say I was Hawkeye, deadly blindfolded with a hand tied behind my back but I got good enough not to care.

The real trick is combining it with other weapons which fire differently to it, but you know what? That's right, more practice makes you better at that too!

Just remember.... Practice, practice practice.

#43 Joseph Mallan

ForumWarrior

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • 35,216 posts
  • Google+: Link
  • Facebook: Link
  • LocationMallanhold, Furillo

Posted 07 October 2014 - 04:13 AM

View PostBUDFORCE, on 06 October 2014 - 10:48 PM, said:

I wouldn't consider myself a complete novice neither would I consider myself anywhere near the top end of the skill pile. I took a reasonable long break from MWO (although after the gauss changes) and I have noticed more dual guass builds around, particularly Dire Wolfs.