- - - - -

The Player Skill Rating (Psr) System Explained... (As Best I Can)

Guide

149 replies to this topic

#101 Wintersdark

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,375 posts
  • Google+: Link
  • Twitter: Link
  • LocationCalgary, AB

Posted 30 December 2015 - 10:32 AM

View PostBoseMensch, on 18 December 2015 - 11:05 AM, said:

So I'm new to this game, and have only anecdotal evidence, but it seems to me that the ranking is extremely biased toward overall win/loss for determination. I have only around 100 matches played (I think its around there), and of those only probably 4 were played in the faction war section before I realized I was severely outclassed and only doing a disservice to those playing there. The reason that I went there, however, I think may be relevant to the conversation. When I played my rookie matches, I was (obviously and unsurprisingly) not very good. I didn't start paying attention to the PSR until several matches in, which were all losses. I noticed that I was at tier 5, but the problem was that even though I started to improve my skills, my tier was not really increasing that much. I spent many hours learning tactics and strategies to improve my skills by reading forums and watching vids, and it wasnt long before I went from doing around 100 dmg per game to doing around 250-300 per game in my hunchback. I was still stuck in tier 5 for a long time, because although I would outperform the mediums in my matches, I was on the losing team many times because the other players hadn't gotten away from the COD/Leroy Jenkins style of play and were just charging into fire and getting picked off one by one. I had a day where I lost probably 15 matches in a row, but was still performing fairly well on an individual basis (for a noob), due to teamwork fails. That is what prompted me to go to the faction wars portion, as I was thinking that there would be better teamwork, which would improve the chances for a win. I was correct, but not skilled