Remove The 3 Variants Required To Master Rule

26 replies to this topic

Poll: Should the 3 mechs to master rule be removed? (105 member(s) have cast votes)

Should the 3 mechs to master rule be removed?

1. Yes, allow mechs to be elited and mastered without having to use additional variants (47 votes [44.76%])

Percentage of vote: 44.76%

2. Yes, allow mechs to be elited and mastered after using 2 variants (23 votes [21.90%])

Percentage of vote: 21.90%

3. No, don't change it (34 votes [32.38%])

Percentage of vote: 32.38%

4. Yes, more than 3 variants should have to be basiced before a variant can be elited or mastered (1 votes [0.95%])

Percentage of vote: 0.95%

Vote Guests cannot vote

#21 Herkras

• PipPip
  • The Serpent
  • 27 posts

Posted 02 June 2016 - 01:08 PM

I've been playing for a few months now. I may probably still need some more experience.
But this is about gameplay and it does nothing but add extra time 'mastering' a 'Mech. I get the idea that its about trying all the variants so you can find the one best suit your style. But if that's the case I would buy them to try them willingly, not just to max and sell them afterwards. This may be specially frustrating and time consuming with Clan 'Mechs because their high prices.

Yes, you can sell and buy the next variant, but it still not necessary nor worth it. Sometimes turning into some very frustrating experiences when lets say X variant is good Y variant is okay but Z variant is just painfully bad or not suiting of your playstyle.

A personal experience of mine is with the Catapult 2K. I loved the PPCs and if I could I would've mastered it, but I cant because I first need to farm the other LRM boats, which I personally dont like to play as... So yeah. I personally think you should be able to master each variant indivually without needing to purchace the other 2

#22 zolop

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • 284 posts

Posted 24 June 2016 - 01:21 PM