- - - - -

Can You Judge Tankiness By Armor And Structure Quirks

8 replies to this topic

#1 dreuseff

Rookie

• 1 posts
  • LocationEast Coast USA

Posted 30 December 2015 - 10:59 AM

Newbie here, asking the vets if I can make reasonable judgments about the tankiness of a mech based off of its Armor and Structure quirks?

I don't want to derail my question by focusing on a particular Mech, but here's an example...
I'm looking at the Panther, which according to the last update on Meta Mechs, has reasonable hit boxes. All variants have at least 10 pt boost to all their parts, one even has a 24 pt armor boost to both its arms! Compared to the Firestarter, which reportedly also has reasonable hit boxes and not one armor or structure quirk, I would like to assume that the Panther is going to be able to take a lot more fire and maybe even seem like a weakly outfitted medium.

As a side note, I'd like to recognize that tankiness is not the only thing that goes into survivability. Most notably in my example, the Panther is going to be at a severe speed disadvantage.

Anyone care to weigh in? Thanks a bunch!

#2 Bilbo

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Nimble
  • The Nimble
  • 7,864 posts
  • LocationSaline, Michigan

Posted 30 December 2015 - 11:05 AM

It needs the quirks because it lacks speed. I doubt the quirks give it as much staying power as it loses by being slow. The only way to tell is to play the mech for a while and see if it works for you. In general, if a light mech is "tanky", it's hit boxes are broken.

#3 TheCaptainJZ

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The CyberKnight
  • The CyberKnight
  • 3,660 posts
  • LocationUnited States

Posted 30 December 2015 - 11:44 AM

The panther is a slow light. Quirks are usually there to try to counter an inherent deficiency in the chassis.

I personally do not like the panther. The weapons are concentrated on one easy to loose arm

Edited by TheCaptainJZ, 30 December 2015 - 11:43 AM.

#4 Nik Reaper