Dire Wolf Ppc Question

12 replies to this topic

#1 Arcaddes

Rookie

• The Blazing
  • The Blazing
  • 5 posts

Posted 09 January 2016 - 08:00 AM

So I am new to the game obviously and went with a Dire Wolf as my first purchased mech. After a few matches I decided to just completely refit it and test out what I can come up with. Now I set it up with 4 med pulse lasers for my primary fire, machine guns for my secondadary to just have a continuous fire weapon that didnt affect my heat, and 2 PPCs and 2 ultra ac/5s for my garunteed heavy hit.

So finally, my questions: the double heat sink equipment. Do those only affect the heat of the weapons you fit them into. Day on my arms I have the med pulse and PPCs, so do the heat sinks in my legs, torso, etc. affect that?

If so, should I just drop the machine guns and just load up with the heat sinks to be able to fire the PPCs more often and lose my no heat weapons?

Any info greatly appreciated.

#2 Eaerie

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Wrath
  • Wrath
  • 250 posts

Posted 09 January 2016 - 08:15 AM

heat sinks effect overall heat, not specific components.
that being said i would drop the machine guns for more heat sinks. PPC's run hot so you want as much cooling as you can get to keep the lasers, PPC's and AC5's firing.
After that it really becomes a matter of getting to know the mech, how many times you can fire the PPC or lasers without overheating, how much heat they generate etc. Use the AC5's to cool off and still be able to put out some hurt.

#3 Rogue Jedi

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 4,908 posts
  • LocationSuffolk, England

Posted 09 January 2016 - 08:27 AM

I agree with Earie, the Dire Wolf is not good for close in work and the Machine Guns have a realy short range, so drop them for ether more heatsinks or more ammo.