- - - - -

First Mech After First 25 Games

21 replies to this topic

#1 Wilq

Rookie

• 6 posts

Posted 09 January 2016 - 11:06 AM

Hi all, i just started playing MWO and im finishing my cadet 25 games. I want to buy one of the packs (Marauder or Warhammer) which one would be better?, and one scout mech for ingame cash, which one woud be good to buy in this class?.

#2 Elizander

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 7,540 posts
  • LocationPhilippines

Posted 09 January 2016 - 11:22 AM

Well you can already try the Raven and the Arctic Cheetah so you can base your opinion around those two. Another one to try would be one of the Firestarters but I forget which variant was good.

As for the packs, the Marauder has already been field tested and it's pretty tough with standard engines when fighting face to face but you tend to lose a side torso very fast if you are hit from the sides. From my experience Marauders are pretty tough mechs to deal with (unless you put an XL engine on it).

Warhammers aren't out yet so it could be hit or miss. PGI will probably tweak this iconic mech into viability if ever it ends up bad due to all the hype around it. There's not enough info to decide which is better so just pick whichever one you want (Marauder has a high ballistic mount and Warhammer has a high missile mount).

Edited by Elizander, 09 January 2016 - 11:23 AM.

#3 B L O O D W I T C H

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,426 posts

Posted 09 January 2016 - 11:22 AM

warhamer will be out on Jan. 19th. If you can wait that long, wait, if not, buy marauders.
Marauders are tanky and overall a solid chassi, you will not go wrong with them.
As for the warhammer, we have to wait until they're in the game, paper stats are looking promising so far, tho.

As for the light mech, ravens are good scouts and peekaboo lights, 3L, 2X and 4X are good mechs, The Hero raven is a bit suicial but still fun to play.

#4 Serpentbane