8 replies to this topic

#1 Ketheres

Rookie

• Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 9 posts

Posted 17 May 2016 - 02:33 PM

Hi,
I just started playing MWO after a 3-4 year break. I participated in the beta awhile ago and noticed it was finally on Steam so I downloaded it again.

Game is just as fun as it was before, however I'm encountering a strange bug/glitch where the game puts me into "Power Saving Mode" at random times. I would then get a black screen but I can still hear people talking on the mic during the game. I am unable to alt-tab out or close the game. I've tried the Windows key, CTRL+ALT+DEL, Alt+F4, etc. but nothing works. Only a hard, manual power reset will restart my computer.

I've experienced it while trying to do the tutorials (it would crash when switching to the next checkpoint) or during the middle of a match.

System specs:
Windows 10 Pro, 64-bit
Intel Core i7 860 @ 2.80 GHz
16 GB RAM
AMD Radeon R9 380
1000 W CoolerMaster PSU

Full screen mode on MWO w/ High Graphics

This is the only game where I'm experiencing this problem. I've been playing The Division lately on med/high graphics and have no issues.

Would appreciate any advice or help on this as this is driving me nuts and I'm unable to play.
Thanks in advance!

#2 Moomtazz

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Vicious
  • The Vicious
  • 577 posts

Posted 17 May 2016 - 02:36 PM

This happened to me yesterday on crimson straits. Screen went black for about 5 seconds. Probably a new feature.

Edited by Moomtazz, 17 May 2016 - 02:36 PM.

#3 Tarl Cabot

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Tai-sho
  • Tai-sho
  • 7,737 posts
  • LocationImperial City, Luthien - Draconis Combine

Posted 17 May 2016 - 03:02 PM

That is the monitor's Power Saving Mode. It will do that when it is no longer receiving a video signal. Try Alt Enter (changes to windowed mode) to see if that does anything. If not then the driver had not recovered itself, possible driver issue.