35 replies to this topic

#1 captain towels

Rookie

• Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 2 posts

Posted 07 July 2016 - 10:30 AM

Hi There,

I'm new to the game and have just finished my first 25 games with the trial mechs. I'm currently split between picking up an Ebon Jaguar or a Timber wolf as my first 'mech and wanted your opinions on the two chassis.

Most likely going to build something with medium lasers and a couple of LRM's but would like to have a versatile chassis I can change up when I get bored.

#2 Wintersdark

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 13,375 posts
  • Google+: Link
  • Twitter: Link
  • LocationCalgary, AB

Posted 07 July 2016 - 11:02 AM

Either will work. Both are extremely flexible mechs able to do pretty much anything. The TBR is a bit tougher, the EBJ able to pack slightly more weaponry into a lighter chassis.

#3 Aleksandr Sergeyevich Kerensky

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,187 posts

Posted 07 July 2016 - 11:14 AM

I heard Ebon Jaguar's tonnage makes it more cw fw friendly

#4 Dandred

• PipPip
  • The Money Maker
  • The Money Maker
  • 28 posts

Posted 07 July 2016 - 11:14 AM

I think you'll get the most bang for the buck from the Timberwolf.

The TBR-S pods will let you use jump jets and multiple launchers, which is good for harassment and DPS. The Timberwolf's heavier armor is more forgiving, although it's taller profile is easier to spot.

The Jaguar leans heavily on the clans ranged and maneuvering advantages which can be challenging for newer pilots. Although the EBJ is my current favorite mech, it can be difficult to use correctly.

Be sure to check out some Youtube vids of each, and welcome to MWO.

#5 Digital_Angel

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 441 posts

Posted 07 July 2016 - 11:17 AM

Both are good mechs.