- - - - -

First Time Playing And Need Advice On New Mech

19 replies to this topic

#1 BastillaShan

Rookie

• 3 posts

Posted 15 September 2016 - 11:43 AM

I just started playing this awesome game, but i'm concerned about what my first mech should be. I've fiddled around with the Kodiak in Smurfy's mechlab and came up with this build:

http://mwo.smurfy-ne...75622724fd118c5

Is this any good? Or what mech would be good for me to start out in?

#2 Aleksandr Sergeyevich Kerensky

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,187 posts

Posted 15 September 2016 - 12:10 PM

View PostBastillaShan, on 15 September 2016 - 11:43 AM, said:

I just started playing this awesome game, but i'm concerned about what my first mech should be. I've fiddled around with the Kodiak in Smurfy's mechlab and came up with this build:

I can honestly tell you, that that mech will run way too hot. And while The kodiak is a really good mech, I would like to suggest that you play trial mechs and find out for yourself what mech weight group you like best first before buying into a mech.

Take your time and really figure out what weight class your affinity is towards! After you find your way, we can help you min/max a mech for you

May the force be with you!

Edit: adding in a shameless advertisement for my favorite mech... Battlemaster love for life!!!

Edited by Aleksandr Sergeyevich Kerensky, 15 September 2016 - 12:11 PM.

#3 BastillaShan

Rookie

• 3 posts

Posted 15 September 2016 - 12:13 PM

I have been playing a few matches here and there. Honestly i'm a huge fan of the heavies, and the Battlemaster Trial mech. The timberwolf has a good layout while the Ebon jag is versatile with it's pulse and gauss...so i'd have to say a heavy mech would do nicely ^^

#4 Aleksandr Sergeyevich Kerensky

• 1,187 posts

Posted 15 September 2016 - 12:16 PM

View PostBastillaShan, on 15 September 2016 - 12:13 PM, said: