Things I'd Like To See Changed - A Noob's Perspective

Gameplay HUD Skills

11 replies to this topic

#1 Konseq

• Pip
  • 15 posts

Posted 09 June 2017 - 10:11 AM

Hi everyone,

Before I get to the things I'd like to see changed, let me introduce myself to give some context to what I say:
I started playing MWO 3 months ago and I still consider myself a noob. I started because a friend recommended it to me and he kept playing with and teaching me. WIthout that support or encouragement, I would have quit playing after just a few days or even hours. I also chose to be a loyallist on Clan side because of my friend to be able to play with him.

I own one each of the following mechs:
  • ACH: A, C, Prime
  • HBK: Standard, A, B
  • VPR: C
  • TBR: A, D, S
  • MAD-IIC: Standard
In an average faction play I deal between 500 (bad, lost matches) 1000 up to 1400 damage (good, won matches). I consider myself still a noob, tho I am not an absolute beginner anymore.

Since I started playing I noticed a lot of things where I wondered why it is not implemented differently or at all. Also I drew comparisions to other games. Please bear in mind that the things I'd like to see changed is from a noob's perspective.

Without any further intro, let's get to the things I wondered about or would like to see changed:

1. Menu accessibility during match search
Especially searching for faction play sometimes takes up to 10 minutes. Why is it not possible to access the mechlab, skill tree, drop deck, store or any other of the menus? Once I enter the lobby I can change and even edit the dropdeck. So why isn't it possible to do the same or even more during match searches? I'd love to browse the store to search for the next mech I'd like to buy or tweak my mech in mechlab.
Currently I am forced to do nothing or do something else all together (browsing for e.g.) as the game isn't offering anything interesting during the search.

2. (More) sorting functions in the store for battlemechs