Mwo, Mechs Being So Unbalanced

67 replies to this topic

#61 Khobai

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • Elite Founder
  • 23,969 posts

Posted 18 March 2018 - 01:54 PM

the balance issues were never so bad that people couldnt just play through them.

the bigger problem is that the game just isnt fun anymore.

#62 Wingbreaker

Troubadour

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Sureshot
  • The Sureshot
  • 1,724 posts
  • LocationThe city that care forgot

Posted 18 March 2018 - 02:29 PM

I have more time in the timberwolf than you've spent in game, in all likelihood. I'd put Solitude and Jager as the probable two pilots with more time in the thing than myself. Soli doesn't really play it anymore, and Jager just doesn't play. But if you were to ask either of them, I'm pretty sure they'll agree with the below reasoning. I'm not the best, but I'm a fairly decent heavy pilot and the timber for a long time has been my specialty.

Why is the Ebon Jag better, in every conceivable fashion, than the Timberwolf in its current state (since engine desynch)?

Simply put, mobility due to mech weight instead of engine and a distinct bias on PGI's part.

The 65 ton EBJ runs a 325XL, taking up 19+3 tons of its podspace (29%, 33.85% with heatsinks).

The 75 ton TBR runs a 375XL, taking up 26.5+5 tons of its podspace (35.3%, 42% with heatsinks).

Mech: EBJ ///// Timber
Accel: 22.33kph/s ///// 17.72
Decel: 25kph/s ///// 19.66
TurnR: 47.55 ///// 42.39
TTRate: 85.5 ///// 76.5
PitchST: 53Deg/s ///// 48
PitchSA: 214deg/s ///// 191
Total Pitch 25deg+30 ///// 20+30
YawSpdT: 86deg/s ///// 77
YawSpdA: 214deg/s ///// 191
Yaw angle: 90d ///// 90

Therefore for an overall decrease of 8% of total usable weight of the mech with a corresponding 13% increase in total weight the Timber suffers:

-4.61 kph/s Acceleration (20.64% decrease)
-15.0475 kph/s Deceleration (21.36% decrease)
-5.34 Deg/s Turnrate (10.85% decrease)
-9 Deg/s Torso Twist rate (10.53% decrease)