Playing With Friends

8 replies to this topic

#1 Kaptein Jostein

Rookie

• Knight Errant
  • 1 posts

Posted 08 November 2018 - 07:00 AM

Hi,

I'm new to MWO, and after 20 or so battles I brought a friend into the game. After he finished his tutorials and got a couple of battles in the trial mech, we desided to join forces.

After some fideling we managed to make a group and selected our mechs, the matchmaker started searching for games but... nothing. Searching. And serching.

I'm getting the feeling that we are doing something wrong. Is this a case of 12 or nothing? Is the ques just really that long? Are we not supposed to play together with friends?

Please help me understand this :(

#2 Eisenhorne

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Liquid Metal
  • Liquid Metal
  • 2,111 posts
  • LocationUpstate NY

Posted 08 November 2018 - 07:15 AM

OK, so here's how this works. If you're by yourself, you play in the solo queue. It's where most people play. If you play in a group, you go into group queue. Group queue only takes groups, so the matchmaker makes groups of 12 from people in group queue, and looks to make matches for the largest groups first. 2 man groups seem to take the longest to get matches for, and there are a few reasons for this -

1) You can only get a match if your team adds up to 12 players. 10 man groups are pretty rare (since you take massive tonnage penalties in group queue for larger groups) so you can really only ever find a match in a situation where two groups have a sum total of 10 people in them, or there are no larger groups.

2) There are a lot of 2 man groups. Lots of people want to play with a single other friend instead of in a large group. So the few games that have room for a 2 man group will take one, and the other 2 man groups just wait.

3) Larger groups get priority. PGI will try to place a 6 man group before it places three 2 man groups, even if the 2 man groups have been waiting longer.