31 replies to this topic

#1 FinnMcKool

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 1,600 posts
  • Locationunknown

Posted 04 December 2020 - 01:32 PM

so first off, ask any good lite pilot what his favorite target is. ok now that the truth about that is clear let's move on.

I would just like to point out some of my observations , I dont have the stats or proof, though many people before me have posted these things many times , Im sure with a little effort you can either prove me right or wrong, ,,,,,,,,,GO FOR IT

I did spend the vast majority of my early play as a lite pilot, my favorite mech is still the Commando TDK, but as time goes you need a change and I was drawn to play the mechs i so often hunted.

so let's have it

LRM 5s are better, in all ways IS and Clan
if you have a choice of 3 LRM 5s or 1 LRM 15, use the 5s and save the weight from not using Artemis. They will recycle faster run cooler and hit better, and you have a choice of Alpha or chain fire.

2 LRM 5s without Artemis do more damage than an LRM 10 with Artemis

Artemis may help LRM 5s , but i have never seen it in a practical sense, it seems to do nothing at all, in any case the weight saved far outweighs any benefit it may give.
I feel there is no Reason to use Artemis with LRM 5s.

Artemis does improve LRM 10s and up and i would recommend it if your space and tonnage allows, i can see many reasons for not using it but I would still try as best you can to use it.

one reason i feel for NOT using Artemis on 10s and up is the odd fact that when firing on lite mechs you can actually do more splash damage, therefore having a better chance of doing leg damage on them, as we all know the lites have their own ability to avoid damage.

The real reason for using LRM 10s and up, is simple, more is better, thought LRM 5s are better,
1 LRM 10 is still better than 1 LRM 5 but if you have a choice of 1 LRM10 or 2 LRM5s go for the 5s.