What's A Good Mech When You Want To Use Mrm's?

41 replies to this topic

#1 sosegado

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Shredder
  • 274 posts

Posted 20 January 2023 - 10:38 AM

Ok, so maybe I'm backwards.

In general I pick a weapon system I want to try and then pick a mech that can use that system well.

This time I want to try MRM's because I've never used that weapon system before and if anyone can point me towards a mech that is well suited to them I would appreciate it.

A medium or a heavy, maybe?

IS or CLAN makes no difference to me. (anathema, I know right! Posted Image )

#2 TheCaptainJZ

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The CyberKnight
  • The CyberKnight
  • 3,658 posts
  • LocationUnited States

Posted 20 January 2023 - 03:48 PM

View PostStab Wound, on 20 January 2023 - 10:38 AM, said:

In general I pick a weapon system I want to try and then pick a mech that can use that system well.

This time I want to try MRM's because I've never used that weapon system before and if anyone can point me towards a mech that is well suited to them I would appreciate it.

A medium or a heavy, maybe?

IS or CLAN makes no difference to me. (anathema, I know right! Posted Image )

Well, MRMs are only Inner Sphere tech so you can't use a Clan mech. They have ATMs instead which are different.

You can run MRMs on any IS mech with good hardpoints. Typically, MRM-heavy or exclusive mechs are ones with torso mounted missile hardpoints. MRMs also come in different sizes--10,20,30, or 40. I'm not sure what the "optimum" mixture of hardpoints and MRM launchers is. You might have a mech with 2 x MRM 30. Or you might have a mech with 4 x MRM 10. If you already own a mech that has missile hardpoints, give them a try! As for mechs in the store, look for ones with missile quirks and good hardpoint locations. I don't know specifically offhand.