How Does Matchmaking Work?

Balance BattleMechs

27 replies to this topic

#1 Gruyter

Rookie

• 6 posts

Posted 16 March 2024 - 10:54 PM

Hi, Everyone.

I'm pretty new at this game. (OK, technically, I created my profile about a decade ago, but it's only recently that I've had a computer that can actually play this game, so, really, I'm a noob.)
I have a question about matchmaking, in Quick Play.

The first 'Mech I bought was, obviously, the MAD-3R, because it's been my favorite for about 35 years. Not too long after that, I bought my second 'Mech: a Timberwolf-Prime, which is probably the best 'Mech ever designed (on paper).

Very recently, I've picked up a Grand Dragon. I didn't buy it, I was given it for free as part of a free 'Mech event, which I appreciate. I'm sure a lot of people were given free Grand Dragons as part of that event.

So, here's my point: if I drop into a Quick Play match in my Grand Dragon, as opposed to my TBR, does my team get any advantage? I mean, both are heavy 'Mechs, but the DRG is really a "light heavy," with IS weapons and only 60 tonnes in weight. By contrast, the TBR is a Clan 'Mech, and a "heavy heavy" at 75 tonnes. I feel like I, personally, do much better with the TBR, and I'm trying to figure out if my Quick Play team gets any advantage when I drop with my DRG rather than my TBR? Because, honestly, right now I'm struggling to understand why I would ever choose the DRG over the TBR--it's just (on paper) a clearly inferior 'Mech. I'm really looking for a reason why ANYONE would use it when the TBR is available.