- - - - -

Can Someone Explain Psr?

5 replies to this topic

#1 SidequestsYT

Rookie

• Moderate Giver
  • 1 posts

Posted 06 September 2024 - 10:08 AM

Hello everyone. I have some experience with MWO, having played on another account years ago. Now I'm back, and playing again daily. One thing I never understood about MWO is the Pilot Skill Rating (PSR). All the information I've been able to find about it is outdated by between a few to several years. Can someone give me a current breakdown of how the PSR works in 2024? It seems like no matter how good or bad I think I did in a match, it's always a guessing game as to whether my PSR will go up, down, or stay the same. Ultimately, I play to have fun and the PSR is not something I focus on, but it would be nice to understand how it works. Thanks in advance to anyone who responds.

#2 martian

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 8,276 posts

Posted 06 September 2024 - 10:34 AM

Greetings!

There have been no significant changes in how PSR works for years. The last big change happened in mid-2020 when the entire PSR was reworked.

You can watch this fan video:

Imagine it as a list of 24 players, sorted according to their Match Score (the players of the victorious team get a small bonus) after the game. The upper 12 'Mechs get the green arrow, the lower half of the list gets the red arrow. The higher you are among the "green" 'Mechs, the higher is your PSR raise. The same is true for the "red" Mechs - in the negative sense, of course.

Thus, in one game some Match Score can be good enough to place you in the upper half of the list, and in the next game the same Match Score could place you in the lower half of the list.

#3 Void Angel

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Marauder
  • The Marauder
  • 6,983 posts
  • LocationParanoiaville

Posted 06 September 2024 - 02:36 PM