Will the graphics be able to be turned down?

22 replies to this topic

#1 Gulgari

Rookie

• 5 posts
  • LocationUtah

Posted 07 February 2012 - 12:54 AM

I did a systems check on my computer, and found that I can not run Cryengine 3. That said, i'm wondering if there will be an option to tone down the graphics? I'm sure that I am not alone when I ask this question.
Also as a disclaimer, I wasn't entirely sure where to put this post, so I put it in General Discussion, I am a newbie after all ;)

#2 John Clavell

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 1,609 posts

Posted 07 February 2012 - 12:59 AM

The CryENGINE 3 can run on pretty old systems. The game will support DX9 which is very old at this stage. MechWarrior 4 was DX8 to give you a comparison. Even my 3 year old MacBook Pro is above the minimum specs for the CryENGINE 3. Generally they will show the minimum and recommended specs for the Engine. So if you don't meet the minimum spec (lowest quality settings) then yes, you'll be unable to play the game. Though look over the minimum spec and see if you can't bump something up to make it playable. What's you computer spec? On a final note, CryENGINE 3 is meant to look pretty good even on medium and low settings.

Edited by John Clavell, 07 February 2012 - 01:00 AM.

#3 Lorcan Lladd

• 1,037 posts

Posted 07 February 2012 - 01:13 AM

I sure hope so - I may have to turn off shadows and textures in order to get a good framerate...

#4 Gulgari

Rookie

• 5 posts
  • LocationUtah

Posted 07 February 2012 - 01:14 AM

I am running..
Windows 7
3 G's of RAM
AMD Athlon II P320 Dual-Core processor
ATI Mobility Radeon HD 4250 (video card)

#5 John Clavell

• 1,609 posts

Posted 07 February 2012 - 01:33 AM

Here is the minimum requirements for Crysis 2, which uses the CryENGINE 3.

Operating system: Windows XP, Vista or Windows 7, with the latest Service Pack
Processor: Intel Core 2 Duo at 2Ghz, or AMD Athlon 64 x2 2Ghz, or better
Memory: 2Gb (Vista requires 3Gb)
Hard disk space: 9Gb