A Few Suggestions From A New/old Player

4 replies to this topic

#1 freak

• Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 11 January 2013 - 11:32 AM

Suggestions to the Developers.

Well it's been roughly two months now since I started playing MWO and since this is a Beta and the Developers are basically asking us for our opinions I figure I may as well put in my two cents. Firstly I'd like to say these are just my own observations and opinions and I reserve the right to be wrong, also I've been playing Tabletop Battletech for over 20 years so please don't assume I'm a noob.

Weapons:

One thing that has jumped out at me is there is a few differences in the weapons that seem strange so here's a few suggestions.

Ultra AC/5.

The UAC/5 seems rather overpowered compared to the TT version and that seems rather strange considering it's just a souped up AC/5 with a little longer range. In MWO it seems to be the weapon of choice, even over Gauss Rifles and AC/20 and that to me, screams wrong.
Suggestion: Base it on the AC/5 stats with about a 20% range bonus and the same recycle time except the player can fire it before it's “Fully charged” but with a 10% jam chance each time they fire it early. Once it's jammed, that's it stuck until the game ends.

Flamers.

Having seen some of the comments on the Forums it seems I'm not the only person who thinks these funky and fun weapons aren't all they could be. I get the impression that the Dev's are a little worried about people going full on Flamer Spam and shutting down massively powerful Assault machines with Jenners, so here's a suggestion.
In tabletop play there is a Cap on how much heat can be added to a unit from external scources, the equivalent of an ERPPC firing, if you add in this cap it stops the Flamer Spam but does make them effective for harrassment.

LB10-X

I like the LB10-X but does it always have to fire Cluster rounds? Yes I know that's its big advantage over traditional AC's but how about this.