Purchasing Hunchback And Need Advice.

6 replies to this topic

#1 Blackhandsaint

• PipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • 24 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 01:20 PM

Hello, all, I'm relatively new to the MWO open beta-I played the closed beta a fair amount, but have only played a couple of games since it went open. I was wondering-are medium/small lasers still the best brawler weapons around? I looked at the weapons stats, and that certainly seems to be the case (especially with the addition of double heatsinks), but I've always been a huge fan of the AC 20. I was wondering if anyone could help me out with a choice-I was thinking of either purchasing the HBK-4P (8 med. lasers), the HBK-4H (modified with an AC 20 and medium/small lasers), or one of the SRM variants (in case SRMs happen to be the best for brawling). Advice would be much appreciated!

#2 MasterBLB

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 637 posts
  • LocationWarsaw,Poland

Posted 23 January 2013 - 02:05 PM

The best one of hunchbacks is 4SP,because it has 2 energy slot in each arm and has no hunch like other ones,which increases its survivability.It is available as trial now,so feel free to check it on your own.

4H is also good option,but to be able to equip biggest weapons you'll have to put pretty small engine,so this mech requires some ingame experience to counter its slow pace.

You won't put 8 medium lasers in 4P if you wish to have some reasonable heat output,7 is a maximum.But this variant is also good,just don't buy it if you can't afford double heat sinks upgrade immediately.Don't buy endo steel structure for it either.

4J is a mix of 4SP and 4P,you can put 6 medium lasers and 2 SSRM2,but'll have a huge,easy to hit hunch and your heat will be rather high.So it may not be a good mech for a rookie who can't do heat management well.

Edited by MasterBLB, 23 January 2013 - 02:10 PM.

#3 Spectre999

• PipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • 97 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 02:07 PM