- - - - -

Avoid The Allure Of An Atlas

77 replies to this topic

#1 The Dreaded Baron B Killer

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 353 posts

Posted 03 April 2014 - 12:07 PM

Hey folks,

I am an oldie, played the original series of Mechwarrior back in the day.

The assault class of mech were always what you worked hard to get into and loved the ability to shred mechs to hell.

obviously due to game balance this had to be fixed to make the game not lop sided...

BUT!

is it me or the Atlas Mech is pretty much the worse mech to decide to get (unless you've been around here a long time and are pretty much an elite player).

I get picked off at distances like its going out of fashion, I don't see my "Extra" armor for my class giving me any survivability, and with the slowness of turning and movement, the atlas is pretty much a statue of liberty in a warzone...

As a Noob I said I might aswell get the mech I used to love and get used to it and work on improving it and my skills at the same time, but from what I can see, I made a big mistake (which is my own fault).

btw I'm not bitching in this thread, this is more of a "new guys, buyer beware!" thread.

Most team matches people will leave you alone, and unless you were smart enough to get the DC with ECM (I wasn't.. forgot completely about ECM and thought it would be taken out for online to avoid advantages given to being invisible lol).

Damage wise also, I've noticed unless you use a very specific build, you will get shredded before the guy infront of you... even if you are a decent shot...

#2 Amsro

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 3,391 posts
  • LocationCharging my Gauss Rifle

Posted 03 April 2014 - 12:11 PM

The Atlas even now still attracts attention, it is best to be "late" to a battle. Not a front line, first to be seen, type mech. If more then a couple mechs spot you they will take you down regardless of your armor.

Solo Atlas is dead Atlas.

#3 CygnusX7

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip