106 replies to this topic

#21 xengk

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Shredder
  • Shredder
  • 2,502 posts
  • LocationKuala Lumpur, Malaysia

Posted 23 April 2014 - 02:59 AM

I was running exclusively medium mech, but I have complete master on all my mediums.
Currently expanding my ride into heavy mech, and working on master of Orion.

The Blackjack have replace Hunchback as my favourite medium.
I also drop in my SRM brawler Griffin recently since better SRM hit defection.

#22 Impyrium

• The God
  • The God
  • 2,104 posts
  • LocationSouth Australia

Posted 23 April 2014 - 03:03 AM

And it's this silly mentality that places mediums such as the Hunchback in 'inferior' places that is my secret weapon.

For I am a medium pilot, with a few assaults thrown in for good measure. You think the 4G is useless? We'll see what you think when you cop a AC20 to the face. People have this thing where 'Mechs such as the Hunchie are apparentely great, easy targets; they come in the droves, over hills and through caves, to be the first to have a shot at my hump... frankly the only thing they shoot at.

They die. They all die. They underestimate that AC20 and dual medium lasers. I care not for your silly meta, or your optimized builds, or even the fact there's other 'Mechs that can run better builds. I have 'Mechs such as the Hunchback down to an art, and once you learn to pilot intelligently and keep your hunch safe, while luring silly 'Mechs, they all fall to you. A well placed AC20 is impossible to beat... except with maybe two AC20s. Real men only need to use one! ;)

So no, in my opinion, mediums are more useful than ever because people underestimate them. I also run with a Griffin, which took some time to get right but now it's a deadly light/medium killer. Sure, you're not going to have much chance against the heavies and assaults. But a smart player knows his role, sticks with their team and engages when they see an opening. :P

#23 Karl Streiger