Is It The End For Mechwarrior: Online, Or Finally A Much Needed Fresh Start?

543 replies to this topic

#401 Xtrekker

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 865 posts
  • LocationOn your six

Posted 11 September 2014 - 12:17 PM

View PostGhogiel, on 11 September 2014 - 12:04 PM, said:

I was a MWLL dev. Yeah we saw similar problems in CE2. Crysis was the defacto benchmark game for high end PCs for a few years there.

We were working under an era of different hardware. So while it was CPU heavy, it was less of a bottleneck because at the time 9800GTs were basically the standard GPU and Phenom2s could just about keep up with those. The 1gb of vram was actually a top concern during my optimization passes along with lowering DP in LODs where possible. The HUD ***** fps in MWLL so bad too, which I presume the flash was all cpu run. turn off your HUD and get like 50% fps boost. :<

But I don't recall hit detection issues. I was gonna say, hey, call Toth. He's working over at CryTek now, right? ;) Although my understanding was there was some involvement with those guys in the beginning. (I'm Stormin by the way, 2D HUD stuff.)

#402 Ghogiel

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • CS 2021 Gold Champ
  • CS 2021 Gold Champ
  • 6,852 posts

Posted 11 September 2014 - 12:19 PM

View PostMatthew Craig, on 11 September 2014 - 12:08 PM, said:

I think what you are referring to is the default setting for many settings was dropped to medium from high at one point to help ensure that the average user got decent performance which will have included texture settings. Texture quality has always remained the same in fact we increased it from 1k to 2k textures around the time prior to clans so many of the newer mechs use 2k sheets.