Letter To The Mwo Community.

44 replies to this topic

#21 Zphyr

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bridesmaid
  • 703 posts

Posted 18 July 2013 - 05:18 PM

Unfortunately language moderation seems non-existent in this game. Too often, random insults would be hurled around (although GGs are way more common), just because they can. Taunting the other team may be "in spirit" but more than that should not be so easily tolerated. I understand that some rude words might be just a lighthearted joke, but too much is too much.

One has to learn how to swallow or ignore foul languages in any online gaming community, that's for sure, but some decency is and should be expected. I am not a MWO newbie, just in case someone tries to shut me up because "you are new". I have been around MWO for over a year, and IMHO we are getting more and more immature attitudes. Yes, we are far from the worst but should we be happy about that? That there are worse communities? Can we not be good instead of "not as bad"? I speak of the few immature people, not the majority. Most are usually quite nice.

We can do better and it can start small. As an example, I am a woman and often use voicecomm, so my teammates know my gender. A couple of them would sometimes joke-taunt any one I kill with "You got killed by a girl". While it is in no way an insult, I sometimes have to ask them to refrain saying that because someone may take that seriously - no idea why, nowadays, but got enough over-the-top answers in return to know that. Be a little more considerate and, as a whole, we may enjoy this game more. We do not need racial/sexual/whatever-slurs to feel like we are playing an online game.

But then that's just hoping in vain. It won't get better any time soon. *sigh*

#22 Kenyon Burguess

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Veteran Founder
  • Veteran Founder
  • 2,619 posts
  • LocationNE PA USA

Posted 18 July 2013 - 09:10 PM

View PostTycho von Gagern, on 18 July 2013 - 02:16 PM, said: