• FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • FP Veteran - Beta 1
  • 35,216 posts
  • Google+: Link
  • Facebook: Link
  • LocationMallanhold, Furillo

Posted 09 December 2013 - 08:42 AM

View PostNoesis, on 09 December 2013 - 08:13 AM, said:

I prefer the Bruce Lee style personally but had to like the above post all the same as it was too frankly honest not to. :)

I studied Wing Chun Do (one of Bruce's styles), Using his teachings, I was told that our fists would hit with the force of a sledge hammer equal to 10x our body weight (the famed 1"-3" power punch) I weighed 300 lbs at the time of my training!!! So a 1.5 ton sledge hammer even at 1/5 the speed that Bruce could strike... :P

#122 Artgathan

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 1,764 posts

Posted 09 December 2013 - 09:24 AM

View Postarghmace, on 09 December 2013 - 07:48 AM, said:

The problem here is that why would anyone take a slow assault if it weren't better at killing stuff? Much wiser to take a fast light mech that you can use to scout and cap as well. What's the point of an assault in this scenario?

The point is that with proper mobility balancing each weight class is good at killing stuff a little bit lighter than it. Let's consider an example:
  • You decide your team will bring all light mechs
  • The enemy team finds this out, and decides to bring some lights mech (to match yours) and some medium mechs (since they'll be good at killing your lights)
  • You find out about this and decide to change your team's composition as well! If they're bringing Mediums, by golly you're going to bring Heavies (and a few mediums)! That'll learn those mediums!
  • The enemy finds out (again!) that now you've got Heavies! Not to be out-done, they upgrade a few mechs to Assaults and Heavies so that they can dish out the damage against your Heavies