Ballistics Bettering Beams

675 replies to this topic

#321 3endless8oogie

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • 182 posts

Posted 06 January 2014 - 09:52 AM

View PostSandpit, on 06 January 2014 - 09:28 AM, said:

There's just nowhere near the discrepancy in my opinion. I use lasers almost exclusively. I use them well. I do well with them as a primary weapon.
I run a 5LL Stalker a LOT and I can cycle through all 5 continuously 5 times on most maps before heat is a concern.
The trade-offs are there. Whether they're "worth it" is subjective to an extent. The community is very vocal on this subject but also just about evenly divided.
Just as many that hate the way ballistics currently work, like the way they work now. So you have 6 of one and half a dozen of the other.

I have only 3 mechs on this acc, all laserboats and I am not doing bad with them. Had to grind to master them, but after they were mastered i started doing good...

On my other acc i have a jm-dd not mastered, just basics. Sometimes i use 3xac5, some times ac10 or ac20, doesnt realy matter much- ballistics are easy-mode. I do more damage, more kills and never overheat.

It wouldn´t be such a problem if all mechs could use acs, but since there are a bunch that cant....
Doesn´t need a huge nerf or buff to fix this, just a few little tweaks and everything is fine.

#322 Wildstreak

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Civil Servant
  • Civil Servant
  • 5,154 posts

Posted 06 January 2014 - 09:54 AM

Let's not forget, it is not just Ballistics, it is also the PPC. I am driving an Awesome with 2xPPC and 2xLL, the change in play from other Mechs I have run is just plain weird for me. I have to chain fire everything to avoid overheat so I do not get high damage alphas, tried linked fire but too much heat and I just don't like the wait time for cooldown. Even with only 2xPPC, I have noticed they have a psychological effect on opponents along with the damage effect.