Fatal Flaw With Weapons

1080 replies to this topic

#441 stjobe

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 9,498 posts
  • LocationOn your six, chipping away at your rear armour.

Posted 02 January 2014 - 01:53 PM

View PostVarent, on 02 January 2014 - 01:21 PM, said:

Honestly im starting to think the only reason your against it is because it happens to be good against light mechs (if your a good shot) since a light mech can potentially lose a limb to such things. I will site your forum avatar for an example of that as well as other posts you have made signaling your preferance towards them. ;)

Oh, it's no secret I'm a light pilot by preference, that's no big revelation. Anyone who's read a number of my posts know this. I love my Commandos, but I own more mediums than any other weight class.

And either way, I'm not arguing for a change to ACs and PPCs as a way to make lights more viable (I argue for Role Warfare for that), I argue this change to make the game better and closer to its BattleTech roots.

To be perfectly honest, I haven't even given much thought as to how making burst-fire ACs would affect light 'mechs; but at first glance I don't really think it'll be a buff to them. They'll take more damage as AC bursts that would have missed can be walked in just like lasers - but then again they might take less since AC bursts can partially miss and don't do the full damage they would have. It'll probably be a wash then.

#442 YueFei

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,184 posts

Posted 02 January 2014 - 01:59 PM

View PostVarent, on 02 January 2014 - 01:52 PM, said:

agreed... but I also want to expand on this in general....

I would love light mechs in this game to start ACTING like light mechs...