48 replies to this topic

#1 Slepnir

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 723 posts
  • Locationyelm washington

Posted 01 January 2014 - 07:36 AM

There have been a slew of clan balancing topics but that's not the key thing I want to address, I keep seeing this concept being said- "clans broke the TT game" and I want to address it and put an end to it. I have been playing the TT game since 1987, I played the succession wars and yes I played the clan invasion and beyond. In fact I still play on a regular basis we play different eras in my gaming group, as well as IS v IS, clan V clan and IS V clan as well. To the guy who people point to who worked for fasa and the posters that re-iterate his position it absolutely did not break the game, not in the least.......... the thing about TT is that there are a slew of mitigating balance factors in-built into the game. via various crit and pilot damage as well as random hit locations...........................obviously we cannot do random hit locations in a FPS game and they do have some crit location hits (but not he full range) a point I think needs to be addressed is that clan mechs DO NOT have better armor than their IS counterparts. while their guns hit harder and go farther they are just as easy to kill by an IS mechs weapons as any other IS mechs.......I believe this point has been missed in the "nerf the clan weapons" topics that keep popping up. In the TT experience when we put 2 IS lances against a single clan star it is a fair fight............translating to MWO, all of us have played enough by now to know that if we drop short due to matchmaker or disconnect bugs we really have to step up our game to compensate for being out-numbered. after considering this I don't think that clan weapons, even as good as they should be, will be anything but a fair fight especially if they start out outnumbered. by an IS force.....................................................................P.S. sor