New Gaming Laptop

130 replies to this topic

#61 GetinmyBellah

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 278 posts
  • LocationWest Palm Beach, USA

Posted 23 January 2014 - 06:55 PM

Hey, to each his own. Yet, I have to disagree that when building a gaming desktop that the GPU is the most important facet of hardware, let alone a laptop. Why? Well, for one there are four components that can cause a bottleneck and your GPU won't perform to it's full potential. I personally feel that you should start with the CPU-Mainboard then QV approved RAM-PSU, now decide upon your GPU. Again, this is simply my personal opinion on the subject. I've been building my own gaming rigs since 1996. I've also been there and done that. If you purchase a top tier GPU with a mediocre compliment of hardware then your GPU won't perform as it should. Now you've wasted money and are creating headaches for yourself, period.

Anyhow, back to a mass manufactured gaming laptop -- I prefer to recommend an ASUS ROG based laptop when not building your own rig. One of the main reasons I chose a ROG laptop is because ASUS truly stands behind their products and any ROG user is automatically bumped up to VIP customer care. This makes a huge difference if you happen to encounter faulty hardware, or just want to speak to living person in tech support and not continually get the pre-recorded runaround. I also make this recommendation because I'm an avid ASUS user and have been for 10+ years.

I've seen a few other names recommended and I agree with several people, please just stay away from Alienware, Falcon, Origin and the likes.
http://www.newegg.co...N82E16834231089

... at the end of the day it's your money and it comes down to what you feel best fits your style and, or needs. Best of luck, regardless!

#62 Gremlich Johns

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • The 1 Percent
  • 3,855 posts
  • LocationMaryland, USA

Posted 25 January 2014 - 04:49 PM