Gauss Cannon Mechanics Are Excluding Novice Players?

69 replies to this topic

#1 BUDFORCE

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 255 posts
  • LocationCambridgeshire, UK

Posted 06 October 2014 - 10:48 PM

I wouldn't consider myself a complete novice neither would I consider myself anywhere near the top end of the skill pile. I took a reasonable long break from MWO (although after the gauss changes) and I have noticed more dual guass builds around, particularly Dire Wolfs.

For those who started a while go, you will remember that gauss cannons didnt have the "charge up" mechanic they do now, you could just point a click and they would fire. Back then, the game was a horrible meta jump snipe long range game, and PGI made a lot of balance changes to try and make the game more "brawly" which is good. One of them was to add the "charge up" time on the gauss cannons to make them harder to use.

That is all good in theory but what I think has happened is that the more elite players, have either practiced enough to get good with them anyway, or are using scripts (I would guess more the latter, but people will never admit that on public forums) and the average jo novice player, like me, who find them impossible to use, are being excluded from using this weapon.

Or to put it another way, you've got a powerful weapon, that now only the more elite players can use effectively.

Now a single guass is not an issue, yes if you get caught out by one, it hurts, you make a note of it, if you get caught out again, its your own fault. I dont have a problem with that. What I do have a problem with is popping out of cover with my medium mech to take a look, getting popped by dual guass in the CT and have to try and play the rest of the game in structure damage off the bat, its just not fun.