#7201 Butane9000

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Elite Founder
  • 2,788 posts
  • LocationGeorgia

Posted 16 February 2014 - 07:46 PM

View PostAntiKorper, on 16 February 2014 - 04:24 PM, said:

Hello my name is AntiKorper

I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong thread, I am still fairly new to the whole forum thing.

I am a long time Atlas pilot / fan I used to run up to 3 full lances of special Atlases...
When I save up I am in the market for one, but my question is the way i want to load out my Atlas seems to be too much in this game vs the older ones... long story short, I do not fully understand the ferro fibrous / Endo steel upgrades? do they really take up that many hard points? seems like they should not at all, considering one modifies the structure to a new / lighter / stronger setup, second the armor is external? besides how can you save that much on weight and have more then half of your hard points full before any weapons...
or is there something I am missing / not understanding if so could some please help me clear this up?

In advance Many thanks!

In regards to weight savings Endo Steel is flat out better then Ferro-Fibrous. Both take up precious critical slots in assault mechs. So I wouldn't recommend them unless you have no recourse.

Ferro-Fibrous takes up critical slots due to the armor attachment system. Ferro-Fibrous armor should never be on option on an assault battlemech currently because the trade off is not worth the C-bills. Always opt for Endo as you always get your moneys worth.

Also as far as upgrades go. Always get Double Heat Sinks. They are outright better then singles. Any engines past 250 you should start looking to put extra heat sinks in the torsos and arms to soak up damage. As they will allow your weapons to last longer. If space is a factor for weapons put extra heat sinks in the engine slots.

Here's my recommendations on Atlas load outs to help you ease into the game: