A Good Mech For A Noob?

97 replies to this topic

#1 Pandawaffle

Rookie

• 1 posts

Posted 06 September 2014 - 10:18 AM

I'm new to MWO and have only tried the trial mechs thusfar. I was recommended to buy a hunchback for learning to play the game in a Twitch chatroom, but I would like a second opinion before I make the purchase. I've also looked up threads similar to my request in this one, but many of them are from 2013, and I would like something more up-to-date.
I've enjoyed the blackjack thusfar, but I have been hurt badly in games by the coordinated missile spam that clan-stacking groups commonly do, so a kit-out with ECM would be nice.

#2 cranect

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 460 posts

Posted 06 September 2014 - 10:48 AM

I would actually take a centurion instead. It is similiar to the hunchy and it will teach you how to torso twist effectively. Also once you get used to taking as many hits as possible on your shield arm the hunchy will be a lot easier to use effectively.

#3 FDJustin

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 440 posts

Posted 06 September 2014 - 10:57 AM

Whatever you decide to pick up, you should probably make your second purchase an engine that you'll swap between three variants of it (rather than a second variant) it'll take a long time before you can afford one otherwise.

#4 Roughneck45

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Handsome Devil
  • The Handsome Devil
  • 4,452 posts
  • LocationOutreach

Posted 06 September 2014 - 11:17 AM

Get shadowhawks. Also, check out the new player section, there are always a bunch of threads there about which mechs to purchase for beginners.

#5 Nicholas Carlyle

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 5,958 posts
  • LocationMiddletown, DE

Posted 06 September 2014 - 11:20 AM

View PostPandawaffle, on 06 September 2014 - 10:18 AM, said: