What Do You Guys Expect Your Atlas To Do?

88 replies to this topic

#1 TheTipOfTheSpear

• PipPip
  • Bad Company
  • 23 posts

Posted 07 March 2016 - 08:04 AM

Hey guys relative newbie here. I started this game because of just how amazing the Atlas looked on game ads and for its general all round badassery. Basically, I love my Atlases. However, I mostly solo que with PUG matchs. What this usually means is that my matches end very quickly, with me leading a charge that either fails and ends with me doing little to no damage or epic steam rolls that ends with 600 to 1000 or more damage. Either way, the results were extremely inconsistent. Getting tired of this short of gameplay, starting from two days ago, I started playing alot more passively in the early game and only making calculated pushes into isolated groups of 3 to 4 mechs. I do not be to brag when I say this, but I generally can out brawl any mech ingame in a atlas with my srms and ac20 strikes (which is to be expected). However, contrary to popular belief, leading a charge does not mean brawling. It means torso twisting like crazy with little accuracy and a dead mech or heavy damaged mech depending on whether or not your team follows through with you. When I find that I'm the second one in, I can successfully do massive amount of damage. By switching to this playstyle, my damage has spiked with average of 600 dmg or more in the past 2 days with 3 games over 1000 dmg. One game even managed to hit 1300. However, by implementing this short of wait and see approach, I have been yelled at ingame chat and VoIP for not playing the atlas correctly.
TL;DR do you think that a Atlas has a duty as the mech to always be the first one into the breach, tank as much damage as possible despite how much potential damage it can do when it gets into range? Please give me valid opinions and reasons as why why you think so.
Good hunting!

#2 iLLcapitan

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Caladbolg
  • Caladbolg
  • 654 posts