- - - - -

Whats A Good Newbie Friendly Starter Mech?

34 replies to this topic

#1 Whargoul666

Rookie

• Knight Errant
  • 3 posts

Posted 18 July 2016 - 12:31 AM

So the title says it all: what's a good newbie friendly starter mech.

The Locust seems pretty good to me, fast/maneuverable with only 2 weapon groups. But so dead so quick when noticed. This got me thinking to ask this question. Is there a medium comparable? A heavy?

I just started playing tonight, so this is super newb level question.

#2 martian

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 8,287 posts

Posted 18 July 2016 - 12:43 AM

Light? Medium? Heavy?

Inner Sphere or Clan?

How many C-Bills or MCs are you willing to spend? There is a sale of Medium 'Mechs now.

#3 epikt

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Littlest Helper
  • Littlest Helper
  • 1,455 posts

Posted 18 July 2016 - 01:07 AM

View PostWhargoul666, on 18 July 2016 - 12:31 AM, said:

The Locust seems pretty good to me

The Locust is a good mech, and I know players having started with it, but it's kind of hardcore mode.

I suggest 2 things:
- test all the trial mechs and see the one you have the best feeling with. Then you'll can buy a similar mech.
- except if you absolutely fall in love, don't pick a light or assault as your first mech. Mediums and heavies are much more balanced.

#4 Doctor Dinosaur

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Shredder
  • Shredder
  • 271 posts

Posted 18 July 2016 - 01:12 AM

If you look at the queue status you normally will find around 45% heavy mechs. There's got to be a reason why heavies are over represented. My guess is, they are (subjectively?) better than other weight classes.
I for myself like the Timber Wolf, but I heard good things about Ebon Jaguars, too.
Don't have any experience with IS mechs, so no suggestions for them.

#5 jss78

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Philanthropist
  • Philanthropist
  • 2,575 posts
  • LocationHelsinki

Posted 18 July 2016 - 01:43 AM