Is The New System Worth The Change Over Cost And Problems?

56 replies to this topic

#1 XX Sulla XX

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 3,094 posts

Posted 20 August 2016 - 03:16 PM

First a bit about my view of the current game. I think the balance is the best it has been since I started playing the game when open beta started. There is a wide variety of mechs, loadouts and play styles that work in solo and group drops. And while the quirk and ghost heat systems are a bit convoluted at this point they are mainly balanced. If you were going to keep this system I would just go through and make quirk passes on the mechs at the very very top and bottom. I would be fine with them just doing this.

Now for the current PTS 1 Energy Draw system. In its current form it is worse than the current live server system we have. Although with lots of changes it could probably be made to work to some degree. But that leads to one big big question that decides everything.

Is there ANY THING in the new system worth all of the cost, problems, disruption etc of changing over to it? The stated goal is to have players have to choose Alpha Strikes or Staggered Fire. This seems to be THE goal PGI has. So is this goal worth it? Can it be done better in the old system or do we have to have the new system to make it work.

1. Is goal of cutting alphas and encouraging staggered fire worth it. --- I am not sure it is. Currently except for a couple of exceptions the high alphas are either very short range or lasers doing damage over time. And it has worked out to a decent balance with front loaded damage vs lasers boats vs dakka vs brawling etc.

Also in the current system by and large it has encouraged a nice mix of short, mid and long range play.

So if the stated goal of cutting alphas and encouraging stagger fire is the only thing we get from this for all of the problem and cost of setting it up then no its probably not worth it.