If You're Doing <500 Damage Soloing In Faction Play Matches, Please Reconsider Soloing In Fp

184 replies to this topic

#141 Jungle Rhino

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Veteran Founder
  • Veteran Founder
  • 579 posts
  • LocationNew Zealand

Posted 09 January 2017 - 04:27 PM

Stomps happen in Quickplay just the same. I think the problem with Faction play is that the 4 mechs kind of drag the whole process out and make it more frustrating.

I don't really see much strategy with the whole 4 mech dropship concept given how quick games start to snowball - I haven't played FP a whole lot (wouldn't want to offend the l33t dudes with my potatoness) - but how often does a first wave wipe turnaround and win the game? What are the 3 other drops doing other than prolonging the suffering?

Also I think new players need a bit of a break given how impenetrable this game is. If I was a total newb loading up MWO for the first time ever I think it is a pretty fair assumption that 'Trial' mechs should be competitive, or at least able to have fun in them. But they really, really aren't... The tutorials are alright I guess - but bear no relationship to effective playing of a QP game let alone FP. Throw in Ghost heat mechanics, min range on LRMs and more confusingly PPCs, exploding ammo/XLs and there are many traps for young players.

Which is great - but it is not well introduced. Which is probably why I saw a CPLT-K2 with 1xUAC5 + 3xML last night???!

#142 Xiphias

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Littlest Helper
  • Littlest Helper
  • 862 posts

Posted 09 January 2017 - 04:55 PM

View PostBarkem Squirrel, on 09 January 2017 - 02:11 PM, said:

Think about this How many people in the game have a KDR greater than 1? That is what about 4 or 5 thousand active players and how many of them do not play CW?.

If you're curious it's 9,617 active players as of this post in the season 6 leaderboards ("Mors Draco" if you want to look it up).

#143 Willard Phule

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip