Balance

48 replies to this topic

#1 charliedelta76

• PipPip
  • Leftenant Colonel
  • 31 posts

Posted 16 March 2017 - 01:33 PM

So Rotary Autocannons for the IS
This can be the bane of every clan mech in the game.
A rapid firing "GATLING GUN"
Anyone who's seen A-10 Tank Killer footage in youtube knows how utterly DEVASTATING this weapon is. A lot of self indulgent weiners will want this weapon system not to come to the game for the selfish reason that it so many people used this weapon their skill rating will heavily suffer. I will admit I am a solid core IS player who has not bought a single clan mech since I started playing and relish the thought of hosing down Clan Battlemechs cockpits down with a rapid fire gun fire that can crack cockpits with some 12 shots.

But I have to be FAIR.
I have to get out the possiblity of me looking biased so we can speak freely without any accusations of me being one sided.

Let me be clear: I have played Battlefield 4 and Battlefield 3 online so some of the sources I cite regarding recoil control and balancing is taken from these two games.

Lets now talk of properly balancing the Rotary Autocannon:
First we have to get the definition right of what it does:

Now we know how deadly this weapon is and potentially unbalancing this is, in the end of the day in a quickplay match you would not want to face this weapon yourself.

So lets go into a quick discussion on how to "Balance" this weapon.

1. Spin up and spin down time: In our reality this weapon does not have any spin up time, because they are preloaded at the base to fire automatically, the spin up system allows the weapon to have a certain delay. There is a plan to implement this in game. My Personal thought on this is half good and half bad. Owing to the fact that mechanically this is now how the Gatling gun functions, bad you'd be dead from laser vomit in no time because laser Alpha strikes have no delay.