- - - - -

Polar Highlands Hell - How Do I Avoid Lrms?

26 replies to this topic

#1 Left Overs

• Pip
  • Bridesmaid
  • Bridesmaid
  • 11 posts

Posted 24 July 2019 - 08:52 PM

On other maps I hide behind a wall. But the trenches in PH don't offer cover. I have seen some (flippant) remarks on positioning better - that stops working when they send a light to spot. I have tried running, dodging, everything I can think of. Most times I can get away, but after I take a lot of damage. I avoid poking over the ridge. But, someone gets a lock on me anyway.

Currently I play a HMN w/out AMS.

I even learned how to LRM, a bit from videos, and tried that... I'm not good with LRMs. I see what others are supposed to do - so I know what they are doing to me. I just don't know how to avoid it.

This issue, more than anything else, made me choose to play a HBR with EMC. Though that didn't work until I bought the EMC skills too.

Any help would be appreciated.

#2 B0oN

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,870 posts

Posted 24 July 2019 - 10:25 PM

Learn the map, Highlands is full of sightline blocking trenches, little dips, mini hills and also some hard-cover buildings .

Also: ERPPC´s let you stay way out of LRM/ATM range and still do damage .

#3 Ruccus

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Bloodlust
  • The Bloodlust
  • 1,136 posts
  • LocationAbbotsford, BC

Posted 25 July 2019 - 06:35 AM

As BOoN mentioned, go into the training grounds to learn the features of the map. Ideally I'd suggest something like an Assassin or Vulcan with a big engine (a 340 engine would give you 137.7kph) so you're reasonably tall (lots of smaller hills will provide cover for a piranha or locust but are useless for bigger mechs; using a quick, tall mech will help to narrow down appropriate coverfor your Huntsman) yet quick enough to traverse the map in a reasonable amount of time. You can use your Huntsman but at ~80kph it'll take a while to check out the large map.