How do you pilot your mech?

61 replies to this topic

#1 DuskAU

• Pip
  • 11 posts
  • LocationWestern Australia, Australia

Posted 21 January 2012 - 10:44 PM

Hey everybody, total beginner at mech games here.

I made a thread earlier about peoples history and introduction into MW games, and someone posted about using a keyboard and mouse like it was a bad thing; after lurking the forums abit I get the general impression that a joystick is the way to go in MW games?

This I don't really understand, I've played a fair few FPS games, but never any simulations. What makes a joystick better?

The traditional FPS setup is

WASD - Movement
Shift/Ctrl - Walk/Crouch
Space - Jump
E - Use or Activate
R - Reload

Mouse for X and Y axis
Left button for primary fire
Right for secondary
Additonal for scrolling weapons, quick select.

How many more controls do you need to pilot a mech?

What is your ideal setup and how did you come across your chosen method? Did you change styles to get better results?

I've never used a gaming joystick!

EDIT ----

Was just thinking, do some setups give advantages over other setups based on your role as a mech? For example:
Does Joystick + Mouse gives you an advantage in a straight up 1on1 battle in close quarters?
Does Joystick + Keyboard make you a little bit more precise in long range targetting?

Just trying to get an overall feel about the control methods that can be used in MW games!

Cheers for any input!

PS: Any story's about your prowess as a mech commander in battle would be great to read!

Edited by DuskAU, 21 January 2012 - 10:48 PM.

#2 Graphite

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 355 posts

Posted 21 January 2012 - 10:55 PM

Well the first difference that springs to mind is that BT mechs have torso twist: in other words all your movement controls are offset by the angle between your torso and your legs.

Some joysticks have a handle twist axis which can be assigned to torso twist.