Cataphract Or Orion?

51 replies to this topic

#1 Roosterfish

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • The 1 Percent
  • 148 posts

Posted 27 October 2013 - 02:33 PM

I'm looking to get one of the pocket assault mechs and the Cataphract or Orion is what I'm looking at.

The 3D is a jumper and from playing my Catapults I do love to jump. The Orion has 5 more tons to play with.

Since I'm mainly a Catapult pilot I'm used to the huge CT so I don't think the Orion's CT problems will be something I'm not already used to.

Any input would be appreciated.

#2 Cerberias

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 228 posts

Posted 27 October 2013 - 02:36 PM

Orion can get a better up front alpha at close range - but brawling requires decent support - something you wont get outside of a 12 man (usually). The 3D can brawl decently, snipe well, has mobility and good high mounted hardpoints, a much better all round mech, with a higher skillcapp and probably more effective in 9/10 situations compared to the facepunch of the orion.

#3 NRP

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Fire
  • Fire
  • 3,949 posts
  • LocationCalifornia

Posted 27 October 2013 - 08:44 PM

Both are good. However, if you like jumping get the 3D. IMO, it's the best Cataphract.

#4 aniviron

• 3,752 posts

Posted 27 October 2013 - 08:53 PM

Most serious players much prefer the cataphract. It's much smaller, has better hitboxes, and utilizes ballistics heavily, which are very good at the moment (and have almost never been all that bad in MWO). The CTF also has a lot of variants specializing in different things, so owning different variants is actually useful- you can build for speed, jumping, ballistics, energy, etc. The Orion is pretty much just a miniaturized atlas, so it carries less weapons, less armor, and has a bigger CT, but shares the atlas' lack of maneuverability.

#5 Kolaghan

• Pip
  • The Covert
  • The Covert
  • 14 posts

Posted 27 October 2013 - 09:15 PM