Perks Of A Spider?

20 replies to this topic

#1 SataSata

Rookie

• 4 posts

Posted 19 December 2014 - 01:48 AM

I'm new to this game and I got a Spider 5D and my playstyle is spotting and scouting for enemies. I usually drop with 2 MLAS 1 Flamer and a Tag. However I feel like I'm not contributing much to the team, sometimes I would distract an enemy by running up behind him and spam my laser and flame at him and when he turn over I'll jumpjet over him and run away. But I'm annoyed by the amount of damage I can do which is usually less than 20 per game. The Spider 5D has too little weapon hardpoints and I think the only good thing about it is ECM and powerful jumpjets. Currently I'm thinking of selling the Spider 5D and changing to either a Firestarter or a Jenner which I believe can do the same job but with more firepower. But I really want to commit and like the Spider, so can somebody tell me whats the perks or interesting playstyle of a spider which the other light mechs can't fulfill?

#2 Latorque

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 292 posts

Posted 19 December 2014 - 02:03 AM

It's not an energy monster akin to the Firestarter; but loaded with 3 MPLas you can do some serious skirmishing and tie the enemy down to no end; the only thing you really have to fear are well placed gauss rounds.

Start off the match with scouting, once the enemy ist found try to draw his fire or lead him to chase after you, then retreat back to your lines when it get's to hot. I mostly make the mistake of keeping up running into enemy groups during the heaviest brawls in the middle of the match; sooner or later even a Hitreg-blessed Spider falls to this. As soon as the fight breaks down into smaller duels, jump in and support your heavies / assaults by melting off the rear CT of a juicy king crab, your lasers do tremendous damage if the enemy doesn't move.