Goodbye Lagshield, We Won't Miss You

63 replies to this topic

#1 KingNobody

• PipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Survivor
  • Survivor
  • 216 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:15 PM

This is a banner day for MWO, 'mechs now have their hitboxes in approximately the right place. Now terrible pilots have no excuse when a light rips them apart. And, as I predicted, lights are still dancing on the face of assaults and slow heavies.

As a light pilot, I am thrilled to see this, as our piloting skills won't be attributed to the lagshield, and we won't hear anymore boohoohoo about how we're all cheaters. The blessed silence of pilots in their cored Atlai and Stalkers is the sweetest music that could possibly accompany this game.

Thank you PGI for your timely elimination of the lagshield, and thank you once again for creating this fantastic game.

#2 Roughneck45

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Handsome Devil
  • The Handsome Devil
  • 4,452 posts
  • LocationOutreach

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:17 PM

Now we just need collisions to really weed out the bad light pilots.

#3 yashmack

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • 802 posts

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:17 PM

is it really that much of a difference now??
I havent been able to log in since the patch

#4 QuantumButler

• Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 4,534 posts
  • LocationTaiwan, One True China

Posted 23 January 2013 - 06:19 PM

Uh huh, personally i've been seeing light mech dying pretty much instantly if they try to dance around flagrantly, assuming the assaults have the braincells to aim.

A frustrating amount don't.

The only time lights get kills on good assaults [idiots who try to lrm boat poorly or cannot hit the broadside of a union class dropship are of course easy kills no matter how damaged they are] is once said assault is already cherry red CT after being mauled to mostly to death by another assault, and a smart light who took cover from the fighting runs along and picks him off.