233 replies to this topic

#141 Gallowglas

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Ace Of Spades
  • Ace Of Spades
  • 1,690 posts

Posted 18 June 2013 - 07:58 AM

View PostMeiSooHaityu, on 18 June 2013 - 05:47 AM, said:

Maybe we are playing a different game. Maybe you and your drops (due to ELO) are so l33t that you can headshot a moving Catapult at 800m away, across your vision moving from cover to cover almost 100% of the time *shrug*. I'm just speaking from experience.

Please don't put words in my mouth. It wasn't meant as an insult and I'm sorry if it came across that way. For all I know you could be in a higher Elo bracket. I'm just saying that maybe the experiences are different due to matchmaking. Who knows? All I know is that it's significant enough that I notice it. Heck, I popped one last night in my Cicada and I'm a TERRIBLE Cicada pilot.

Also, anyone who says moving doesn't help, is full of crap. Besides, when I say moving makes it harder to hit, why do people respond with "moving doesn't PREVENT headshots". Not what I said, I said it helps and that a gread deal of headshots IN MY EXPERIENCE are from me staying stationary for sniper roles.

It helps mainly because you make the head a moving target. Yes, it helps. I just don't think it helps that much.

What I do take issue with is people saying that the hitbox cripples the mech and makes it unplayable for all but LRM duty, and then using that LAME "it's a support mech, deal with it" argument. That is full of it.

I don't claim it's unplayable. I just think it's completely unwarranted in current gameplay. It a balance point for a strength that no longer exists due to weapon balancing and new mechs that often fill the same roles better.

The Catapult (even with the head hitbox) is a good brawler if you want to use it as one. If the head hitbox (at least for me) was such an issue, I wouldn't be able to support a KDR over 0.25, yet somehow I can maintain a KDR of 2+ with it.