• Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 3,384 posts
  • LocationCharging my Gauss Rifle

Posted 30 October 2013 - 09:33 PM

View PostDamocles69, on 30 October 2013 - 07:25 PM, said:

#sadspiders
#happyawesomes/orions

light mechs in general will so MAD after this. possibly cent pilots as well... oh well who need medium mechs anyway?

Actually as a all around pilot, I've stayed out of my spider's while this debacle of OP'ness has been going on.

I'm the happiest pilot as I can return to my spider once the issues are fixed on them. Truly test out the new xl280 in it!! :D

#42 Dirus Nigh

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 2,382 posts

Posted 30 October 2013 - 09:35 PM

View PostJman5, on 30 October 2013 - 04:02 PM, said:

One thing I would investigate is the amount of "debris" left over when a component is destroyed. In MWO when you hit the debris of a destroyed component only 50% of damage transfers. So if you hit a dead leg, 50% of damage transfers to corresponding side torso.

Sounds good in theory, but in practice you have wildly varying amounts of component debris left over making it either easier or harder to hit a component next to it. The best example would be the centurion's arm debris. It leaves behind these big hulking arm joints that soak up damage and reduce it down to 50%. This is the big reason why centurions are so hard to kill. On the flip side, if you look at the arms of an Awesome they almost completely detach leaving behind almost nothing but clear side torso.