#341 AvatarofWhat

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Overlord
  • Overlord
  • 591 posts
  • LocationAntares

Posted 16 December 2013 - 04:54 PM

View Postdangerzone, on 16 December 2013 - 02:28 PM, said:

Gaming design is hard as HELL. It ain't easy.

FALSE. As a game designer I can tell you this. It is easy, it just takes effort and time, something the game design(READ: not programming, not art) department of PGI fails hard at. Game design is not programming, its coming up with a plan. It is redesigning that plan as problems are found. I could in fact start balancing the game right now in under 5 minutes. These guys do not play their own game FFS. How hard was it to fix PPC armageddon? changing a few lines in an xml file. Yet somehow they let it go on for 6 months without any balance changes. How freaking hard is it to design a comprehensive tutorial?! I'm sure you know theres hardly anything to program to make another couple of tutorial modules. I could buy that they are having trouble programming CW, except it hasnt even left the design stage. It was supposed to be in-game over a year ago! Wake up! These guys are taking us for a ride

Programming and art aside we need to actually hold these guys responsible for poor game design, specifically system and content design. Art alone does not make a game. The real bottleneck happens before they even reach the programming stage.

So dont go blowing up on someone else when your not even talking about the right thing.

#342 SaJeel

• PipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 170 posts

Posted 16 December 2013 - 06:55 PM

Everything you said above is true except one thing game design isn't easy it takes, it takes as you said effort, it is a challenging task to do right, it is easy to do mediocre/bad gamedesign but true elegant engaging game design isnt easy

#343 Kyle Wright

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Fury
  • Fury
  • 663 posts

Posted 16 December 2013 - 07:09 PM