Beginning Player Blues

60 replies to this topic

#1 Margulis Killfrenzy

Rookie

• Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 2 posts

Posted 06 November 2014 - 12:46 PM

Okay I am new to the game and so far my experience is for the lack of a better word horrific. I have found the game to be highly unbalanced and it treats new players poorly it seems. The community is not bad at all with the few exceptions of folks crabing at your mech choice or that your a noob (intending insult) when in fact you are learning the game.

Now that being said I have found a great many issues with the game as a new player and an old table top player. While I know not everything from table top can translate nicely there are some aspects of the game that have been trashed that are very important. The first thing I noticed as a new player was that missles were insanely accurate. I dont just mean hey I have LOS and lock and my missiles will find you ... Its the indirect fire for a new player that just destroyes their chances. The pilot skills are very expensive and it takes quite a while to earn enough to buy some of the pilot skills to make you less of a target.

I heard missiles were worse initially from other players. This does not make their current function okay now though even though some people have just accepted them as is because they are not as bad. Sure there are trial mechs we can use but compared to the meta builds that are out there you die in seconds when you try to fight. However I think the biggest problem is the match making and changing this could fix a majority of new player blues.