77 replies to this topic

#1 Gattling Fenn

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Knight Errant
  • Knight Errant
  • 589 posts
  • LocationOverheating in front of a Timberwolf

Posted 31 January 2015 - 11:21 PM

I'm primarily a light pilot, with a soft spot in my heart for the spider. However, the 5v variant... well I simply can't figure out how to make the bloody thing work properly. It doesn't appear to serve any clear purpose. Its only obvious redeeming quality is its stupidly highly speeds, and its jump jet capacity.

Outside of that, it's a weird mess of only two energy weapon hardpoints, and an ams slot for some bloody reason. It doesn't provide ECM, it's terrible in combat, and its AMS is useless if you want to utilize its only real positive trait, its speed.

So, with all that in mind, I have to ask... What is the point in this mech even existing?

MFW asked if I'm going to keep piloting this mech.

Posted Image

Edited by Gattling Fenn, 01 February 2015 - 12:14 AM.
Language in gif

#2 Void Angel

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Marauder
  • The Marauder
  • 6,758 posts
  • LocationParanoiaville

Posted 31 January 2015 - 11:26 PM

So much rage; it's still not a Locust. Also, since you can turn AMS off, there is definitely a point to having it - not the least part of which is the ability to take a bite out of the LRMs which will be incoming when you inevitably get detected scouting without ECM.

Regardless, it's certainly one of the worst 'mechs in the game; I just slapped a Large Pulse into the center toso and toughed it out before selling it. All in all, it might be a good 'Mech someday if role warfare and jump mobility become more useful - but probably it will always be inferior to the two alternate variants. Definitely not worth keeping - it is in fact the only 'Mech which I have sold and never regretted later.

Edited by Void Angel, 31 January 2015 - 11:28 PM.

#3 Virlutris

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • The Spear
  • The Spear
  • 1,443 posts