81 replies to this topic

#61 Mawai

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Legendary Founder
  • Legendary Founder
  • 3,495 posts

Posted 09 April 2015 - 06:27 AM

View PostMischiefSC, on 09 April 2015 - 05:52 AM, said:

That is the real problem. People all want to think they are already amazing and the truth is they are average. The actual top tier players are fundamentally those who can recognize that and focus on changing what they do to get better. Everyone else wants to just do what they have always done and change the metrics to say they are better, or make excuses for why the metrics are wrong.

LOL :) ... that describes me ... I play decently most of the time but usually I am not focusing on playing better and more effectively ... I am playing to have fun.

When I am driving a light mech for example ... I take way more risks than I should ... usually they work out ... I am a decent light pilot and it is fun ... but I could be more effective in the long term if I ensured my survival while still supporting the team.

Recently, I've been playing my HBK-4G and the play style required by the mech is often a close support role ot heavies and assaults (I usually prefer fast skirmishers - Firestarter/Jenner/Jester). Playing that way has resulted in more wins on average and a higher K/D for that mech. I have been fine tuning the play style to maximize the results and that is likely showing up in my medium mech Elo score.

Judging by the fact that most folks in the matches I play appear to play decently ... I'd say I am probably slightly over the middle hump of the Elo curve ... I see the occasional "C" mech which may be someone in a trial or could be someone who bought a champion mech. However, honestly, I think that is really the only way to judge your relative skill level ... stats like W/L, average damage done, K/D are far too easy to manipulate if you actually try that I find them generally meaningless.