113 replies to this topic

#101 Greyhart

• PipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • Bad Company
  • Bad Company
  • 894 posts
  • LocationUK

Posted 14 August 2015 - 01:31 AM

The long and the short of this is that that OP is absolutely right.

A new player has a really bad experience in this game. The grind seems insurmountable at the start and I have been playing for 3 months and bought mastery packs. It is still a grind because I am now trying to get a clan drop deck, hell I'd pay for clan mastery packs.

With an MMORPG at a low level you have a story and a world to explore and the fact you're a low level means nothing because there is new an interesting stuff and every so often you go ping new level or find better loot.

This game is one team death match after another and nothing else. CW is just team death match with 4 lives.

The having to have 3 chassis is stupid and designed solely as a time sink.

C-bills are only there as a time gate. They might as well pay them as an hourly rate for game play because really that is what they are.

One way to make it better is to change the skill system completely and let you have multiple pilots. Because there is no distinction between been a clan pilot and an IS pilot it is just what you happen to pick for that match.

I know that people complain about "balance" etc but the fundamental truth of MWO is:

THE GAME PLAY IS SUPER FUN

It has to be fun because everything else is really just there as a time sink. There is no progress once a Mech is elited there is no reason to play that Mech again.

There is no levelling hook, no loot hook, no leader board hook, no cosmetic hook, no progression hook, no story hook, no quest hook, no variety of missions hook.

the only hook in this game is the actual game play. And by god it is good (not perfect but the only reason to play).